COVIDcation poem

Prompt. 

I bolded important things, and have italics to show literary devices.

For the fun, and the good, 

And the nice smelling wood, 

And the excitement of getting a dog.

The connect 4 I won,

And a good cinnamon bun,

And the radio having some songs.

(For once)                                                                                                                 Hyperbole

I still missed my aunt.

And missed Jono’s rants,

About stocks or something like that.

The break was as good

Though misunderstood

And people seemed to hate it.

(Ok, fair)

I did find it fun, 

Just not a whole ton,

So, I guess that I agree

Now, I imagined it so

Therefore, change was low, 

And I expected all that did be(?)

(Not all)

Though there were 2 things then,

And using a pen, 

I played “Adventure” with Noah.

Other than that,

The old man who’s fat,

Was at the game boards center.

(Monopoly)

But I haven’t said

I’m writing in bed

As with COVID it’s simple to us.

I hope this makes sense

I ate cake, quite dense, 

And also enjoyed some lemon squares.

(They were good)

I played D&D

And I chose to be

A grumpy old little someone.

I don’t quite know why 

The name was then “hi”

Or something as friendly as that.

I think it had “sun”

Or I don’t know, gum?

But I sure still found it quite funny. 

(T’was Sunny)

As for activities

In the festivities

We hiked nearly 12 times a day.                                                                           Hyperbole

We went with our friends,

We went around bends

And the kids got the birds to like us.

(I think)

We lured’em with feed,

And they then decreed

That we were quite good, and friendly.                                                      Personification

Now goals for this year

T’was proving quite clear,

There were not quite as many

(Or any)

We saw many wishes,

And cleaned lots of dishes,

But mostly we just hoped for us

We hoped for vaccines, 

While eating our beans, 

And sadly we stared at our greens.

(But vaccines?)

We wished and we hoped, 

And laughed and we joked

But COVID is still in this world.

As for how we stayed sane, 

Stayed in the right lane

How are you certain we did?                                                                    Foreshadowing

 

Pattern: AAB 

  CCD “”

  EFF

  GGH “”

I am having a rhyme then a synchronous pattern, with every 2 verses having a sentence. This was quite hard, and I tried to make it understandable, but if you don’t get it, sorry. By the way, I use slightly older english, with a bit of “slang” to make words fit better. Also, if it fit better, sometimes the pattern goes a little astray. I also put a little word thing beside literary devices and things.

 

If you noticed, I don’t have the post prompt anywhere, nor answers. That is purposeful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *